Raise the Roof!!

Raise the Roof!!! Our sale was a success! For the last month us girls have been very busy beavers creating crafts and boutique items for our sale. Let’s just say we’ve been knitting, deco podging, accessorizing, etc. to prepare for our big boutique sale. Last week we held our Grant’s Place Porch Boutique sale and garage sale with intentions to contribute towards the price of the shingles. We knew that this was one of the next steps in the Grant’s Place adventure and we thought our attempt might raise enough to make a substantial contribution to Raising the Roof! With that I have two things I would like to talk about… 1. a special friend I met and 2. how much our little sale contributed to the roof!

I’ll start with our special friend… I hope she doesn’t mind that I talk about her… On Thursday around lunch time I met this incredibly strong woman. She stopped by our sale and said she had fallen upon our blog and had read our story and was touched by our family and faith. She didn’t know us, didn’t know any of our friends, nor had she met Grant. She had driven from Buffalo that day to check out our boutique and meet us. She said she was touched by our faith and her heart ached for our loss. She too has suffered loss in her life; however, her faith has remained strong. She is by far one of the strongest women I have ever met. She browsed our sale and bought a few items. She chatted with Chelsey and me for a few minutes and as she completed her purchase I walked her to her car. In this time of walking only a few car lengths I learned that she was a prayer warrior. She reached out and asked if she could pray for me and my family with me. She also asked if she could pray for the healing of Ray’s foot and for the healing of our family and the building process of Grant’s Place. She told me that she loved me and that she will continue to pray and think of our family. I’ve thought about this conversation since Thursday and the conclusion I’ve come up with is this… THE WORLD NEEDS MORE PEOPLE LIKE HER!! The thoughtfulness of this stranger touched a broken family. The next time you hesitate to say a kind word to a stranger, pray for someone you’ve never met, or just go out of your way to reflect the love of Jesus Christ be mindful that the person on the other side of the fence may be hurting or may be broken.  This simple gesture of her kindness changed my life. It reminded me that I am not alone and that I am a child of God. He loves me and will calm my fears. She left me with this… Zephaniah 3:17 For the Lord, your God has arrived to live among you. He is a mighty savior. He will rejoice over you with great gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will exult over you by singing you a happy song. With this simple verse she showed me that she was my little Godsend for the day. Thank you beyond measures to my new friend. Your kindness and prayers mean more to me than you will ever know.

This brings me from warm fuzzies to great news… Ask and you shall receive, seek and ye shall find, knock and the door shall be opened unto you. Pray hard to Raise the Roof and He delivers… by almost the exact penny! By Thursday evening had covered the entire amount of the shingles, almost to the exact dollar! We were so proud to have raised enough for all of the shingles!! We definitely Raised the Roof and I know Grant is so proud of us and our craftiness!!! Dad picked the shingles up on Saturday afternoon from Lowes and brought them up north with mom on Saturday night!

Thank you to all of our boutique shoppers! We had so much fun and want to personally thank each and every one of you for taking the time out of your busy schedules to help us Raise the Roof!

Hugs and Kisses, Sarah

Image

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Raise the Roof!!

  1. Rhonda Pentz

    So excited about the success of the boutique! Grants dream continues! Thanks for continuing to blog about the successes and challenges, so we all can be better prayer warriors. You all should be so proud of yourselves, even though I know it’s all done out of your love for Grant…but you all put so much time and effort into the success of the boutique….it’s very exciting that the shingles are already up north! Love the picture from Lowes!! An awesome picture celebrating the success…and the next step!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

