One Big Machine

As much as it is amazing to see all the progress made on Grant’s Place, it is also really difficult to sit back and think about how the time that has been put into it has been less than that of missing Grant. The leaves have bloomed to green, they have turned all shades of yellows to reds, and now they have almost all fallen to the ground. In that time our whole family has been grieving in their own way. Even my sisters and I are all very different on how we have handled things and how we all get through each day. I will never understand the grief of my parents, for they have lost the greatest loss of all… their child. Nobody can understand because not even we can. Last night I watched a movie Dan convinced me to watch called Hugo even though he warned me I would cry. It was one of the most unbelievable movies I have ever seen and I just know that I would have made Grant watch it if I could have. Grant loved heart-warming movies with a good message — The Ultimate Gift was one if his favorites. I can only hope he was watching over my shoulder and knowing all I was thinking. The movie was about a child who lost his father and through so much of it I could relate and understand. His father left him a mechanical man in which they were working on together to get working again and after his Dad passed the boy, Hugo, was determined to finish it; it was all he could think of and live for… It was all he had to hold onto. This mechanical man reminded me so much of Grant’s Place because, like Hugo, it’s a connection and a message from the one we love. Hugo spent time with that metal doll so he wouldn’t feel so alone and was doing all he could to just fix the machine. On of my favorite quotes from the movie stated:

“Everything has a purpose, even machines. Clocks tell the time, trains take you places. They do what they’re meant to do, like Monsieur Labisse. Maybe that’s why broken machines make me so sad, they can’t do what they’re meant to do. Maybe it’s the same with people. If you lose your purpose, it’s like you’re broken.”

Although Hugo lost his father, a natural order of loss, his brokeness can’t be judged. He was broken like myself…  my mother… my father… my sisters… his friends. We are all broken and like the machine, we’ve lost our purpose… our part. Our challenge is trying to work again and remember that machines never come with any extra parts. They always come with the exact amount they need. Hugo goes on, “So I figured if the entire world was one big machine, I couldn’t be an extra part. I had to be here for some reason. And that means you have to be here for some reason too.”

Below are a few photos of Dad, Casey, Dan, and Tim working on Grants Place last weekend. Also, Dad’s final product of installing the storm door.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

