It’s Always Darkest Before the Dawn

Funny how they call the time change ‘Spring ahead’ when really I feel it dragging behind. Just when my drive to work seemed to be a bit lighter it turned dark once again. The other day while I was driving to work I heard a song on the radio that began some thinking. I think a lot about songs these days. They can cheer me up or very quickly bring me to tears. Sometimes the words reach out and grab my heart and other times the song will remind me of the kids and I driving to school and all of us singing along; songs I clearly remember Grant turning up and knowing every word. Some of those lyrics I never really liked, but now I listen to them carefully just trying to understand what it was about the message that touched his heart. Music touches the core in all of us in one way or another. It’s a gift some are gifted with that reach out and emotionally touch our lives. A song can make us smile, laugh, dance, pick us up when feeling low, or reflect the troubles in our lives. Some days, while on my way, seem like some sort of message or question for me to answer. That song for me the other day was a song by Florence + The Machine called Shake it Out. The words that tugged at my heart were ‘it’s always darkest before the dawn’. The words caught my attention because lately it is still dark on my way to work in the morning and very much like the song referring to darkness and day light it made me think deeper about the quote in general. I know there are many sayings; ‘it gets harder before it gets easier’,  ‘when time gets tough the tough get going’ and lots of other little saying that help us reflect and keep going. But the words ‘it’s always darkest before the dawn’ lead me to try to find understanding in what life has dealt me. Sometimes a song has just a quote or even a word that adds new and powerful meaning to deep within. Through my research I found that the meaning of this phrase is that they are words of encouragement to those going through “dark” times. When all hope is lost, and you feel like your calamity will never lift, it’s encouraging to believe that good times are right around the corner. The meaning of this quote, that even during the worst of times you can have hope, can be very powerful to help us take another step and live another day with hope of a better tomorrow (Bible or Not). The original quote read ‘It is always darkest just before the day dawneth.’ –  Thomas Fuller

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

