Happy Easter

I’ve pondered on the Easter story for the last few weeks. Recently, I have spent more and more time thinking about Good Friday and the events leading up to the Crucifixion. The part that has most stood out to me recently is the story of the two thieves that were crucified along the sides of Jesus. The one line in Luke 23:43 never stood out so clearly to me before. You see in the prior parts of this chapter the one thief mocked him with the rest of the group. The other, while acknowledging he had sinned, demonstrated his belief in our Creator and that he believed in Jesus as the Son of God by defending him and saying “Jesus, remember me when you come into your kingdom” (Luke: 23:42). Right at this very moment and without hesitation Jesus answered him “I tell you the truth, today you will be with me in paradise” (Luke:23:43). What I love about this is that it truly shows that Christ died for us, he died to represent that he would be taking all of our sin and that whoever believeth in him would have eternal life. This is the clearest vision to me today as we just celebrated Good Friday. The vision shows me that we all have sin, some wear it on our sleeves and others hide it in a closet. The promise that eternal life awaits us even in our darkest hour, for those who proclaim the truth of Christ, is such a rewarding mental image. His death was a true testament that eternal life and salvation is our reality for those who have faith. I am so thankful and rejoice this Easter for Jesus’ ultimate sacrifice. The only earthly comfort I have in losing our Grant is that because we have the promise of eternal life we will meet again. I will see him again in Heaven. HAPPY EASTER!!

John 11:25-26
Jesus said “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Easter

  1. Carol

    Amen, well said. May God bless you all the days of your life—and in the hereafter.

  2. Kathy and Dan

    Hope you had a wonderful day. Happy Easter.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

