Teacups

“Faster Daddy, Faster!” screamed the kids as we whirled round and round on the Mad Hatter Teacups at Magic Kingdom this last week. All five of us sat in this tiny teacup that I had waited all day to ride. A few years ago Karmin, Mom and Grant took a trip to Disney World and I promised to take the kids on their favorite ride at our first trip to Disney. I have an image in my head of the exact teacup that Grant sat in. Recalled from the photo that was taken of them I knew that we too would ride the white cup with teal décor. I stood in line plotting out my plan of attack, praying that nobody would steal my teacup. Grant’s teacup.  As soon as the line grew shorter and I was ready to make my move, people swirled all around me, running to their favorite teacup. I ran, losing the rest of my family, but so excited to put my hands on this memory. As I sat there gathering the kids, taking their picture, I wished I had the joy of taking this ride with Grant. I closed my eyes for just a second to pretend I was back in 2008. Reminding myself I have to soak up the now I held my camera out and let it snap. I remember Weston saying to Anniston, “Keep your eyes on me. You won’t get dizzy if you keep looking at me.” As the ride started Weston took the wheel and whirled us round and round as fast as we could go. I have never twirled so fast. The kids’ laughter was priceless and I vow I will never forget the sound of those giggles. We twirled. We laughed. As soon as the ride was over we hopped off dizzy from all of the twirling. Ashton even fell into a bush! As I sat back to catch my breath from all of the laughing and get my head on straight I couldn’t help but think of the song, “Jesus, Take the Wheel.” It reminded me that the twirling of life can sometimes cause us to stumble, maybe fall into a bush, or a dark hole, experience sadness, or a deep depression. We need to remember to let our Father take the wheel and to keep our eyes on him as it is the only way to get through this life. If we can remind ourselves to sit back and trust that our Father will always take care of us our lives will be changed. We may not understand what peaks, dips, and twirls will come but we must trust that we will make it through this life and the ultimate goal is spending eternal life with our loved ones. Don’t close your eyes; keep your eyes on the Father, and soak up the now. Knowing that there will be struggle and there will be pain, enjoy the giggles in life. For today leave the laundry pile and dishes behind and be kind, share a laugh, give a kiss, whisper I love you, show someone how much you care for them; for we don’t know what tomorrow may bring.

grantsawyer1

grantsawyer2

 

“Jesus take the wheel
Take it from my hands
Cause I can’t do this on my own
I’m letting go
So give me one more chance
Save me from this road I’m on
Jesus take the wheel”

Carrie Underwood  – http://youtu.be/lydBPm2KRaU

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Teacups

  1. Karin

    Thinking of an praying for you all at this time of year especially. Thank you for sharing this.

  2. Vicki

    SUCH WONDERFUL MEMORIES OF THE KIDS SITTING RIGHT WHERE UNCLE GRANTIE SAT. IF LOVE AND MEMORIES SPEED ONE’S ARRIVAL INTO HEAVEN, GRANT MADE IT IN A FRACTION OF A SECOND! THINKING OF YOU ALL AT THIS TIME OF THE YEAR.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

