Happy Birthday Grantleigh

image image

One year ago I walked down the hospital hallways holding the hand of my best friend. I felt a million feelings. Two in which were pain and fear. The others were pure excitement and happiness. I didn’t know what to expect. Was it going to be today? How hard was it going to be? Is she healthy? I felt more determination than I ever felt in my life. Determination to do a good job… Was that a thing? Can you do a ‘good job’ delivering a baby verses a ‘bad job’? That rush of thinking, “Oh my gosh… my life is about to change.” I couldn’t get too deep into thought over all this because 1 hour and 40 minutes later she was in my arms. I’d say I did a pretty good job.

Fast forward to today… One year later. My life is changed. I just can’t imagine life without our Grantleigh. My heart hurts that her Uncle Grant is missing from this lifetime of his niece; as I can’t believe we have no choice to continue life on Earth without him. I constantly imagine what he would have said in response to the imaginary text picture I sent him or that she points up to heaven in response to his name. Today I’m thinking of how much he has missed this past year and how much more he will in the upcoming years.

As I have been carefully planning Grantleigh’s “Alice in Wonderland” first birthday I fell upon a quote.
Alice: “How long is forever?”
White Rabbit: “Sometime, just one second.”
As most mothers say cherish every moment as they let down their head and say “it goes too fast”.

Today and always I will cherish the incredible daughter God placed in my arms. Life on Earth goes so fast, but is only a second compared to the eternity we spend in heaven. Happy first birthday to our incredible baby girl. We love you from heaven and back.
-Karmin

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Grantleigh

  1. Jill Reamer

    Karmin,
    Beautiful words spoken. But know this Uncle Grant already knew her, before she was given to you. He hasn’t missed a day of her life, you know he is there watching you all.
    But I totally understand, the emptiness of his being here… We all would prefer, over the way it is.

    Hugs
    She sure is a beauty.
    Jill

  2. Kim

    πŸ’—πŸ’“ You are so right Jill…. He haven’t missed a moment…. Hugs πŸ’•πŸ’ž

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

